Post Op – Day 2

Today has been my most challenging day, but also the most rewarding. This morning, after my epidural was taken out, the physical therapist came by my room to help me sit on the edge of the bed. I was mentally prepared for it to be painful (it definitely was), but I was not expecting to get light headed and dizzy. I thought I was going to faint and it freaked me out a little bit. Apparently this isn’t unusual with the types of medicines I’m taking.
For the rest of the morning, we worked on balancing my pain medication and I did a lot of resting. The physical therapist came back to my room in the afternoon. I wasn’t exactly thrilled to see him, but he and his assistant helped me stand up! It hurt pretty bad, but I felt so accomplished. They also taught me how to shuffle around on my good leg. Since I can now do that, they took my catheter out and I’ll have to get up and use the bedside commode if I have to pee.
A special thanks to all of the nurses who have taken care of me the past few days, they have all been incredible! I feel so lucky to have had them.

Leave a Reply

