Post Op – Day 4: Home Sweet Home

Over the past two days I have accomplished several milestones. I’ve learned how to go up and down stairs with my crutches, get in and out of a car, and do several other basic tasks by myself. It’s so nice to feel a little bit more independent. I just didn’t realize that normal things like getting up and going to the bathroom would make me so exhausted!
My surgeon, physical therapists, and nurses were very proud of my progress and cleared me to be discharged today. I was kind of excited and kind of terrified. There’s something comforting about being in your own place, but since the operation I’ve had a team of people helping me that I wouldn’t have anymore.
Daniel and I left the hospital at around 3:30 this afternoon and I slept the majority of the car ride home. Once we pulled into the parking lot of our apartment complex, I instantly started to panic. Over the past few days that I had been in the hospital, we got our first snow of the year and it had not been shoveled off of the sidewalks yet. I was so afraid of falling, but Daniel helped me with every step.
Now that I am inside and relaxing in my recliner, it really does feel good to be home. Thank you so much to Daniel and my mom, I don’t think I would have been able to get through these first few days without you two!!

Leave a Reply

