Post Op – Day 8: Adjusting To Life At Home

Lately, I think I’ve been the most tired I’ve ever been in my whole life, so I haven’t been posting. Let me update you on my last few days home!

Monday (5 Days Post Op) – Daniel went back to work on this day and I was kind of nervous about staying at home by myself for the first time since the operation, but all went well. I slept the majority of the day and watched HGTV (my new favorite channel) when I was awake. Daniel ended up getting off work early due to inclement weather. About a month before the surgery it was recommended to me to get a recliner if I had the means to buy one. I found a lightly used one for a great price and it has been a godsend. It’s great for when I’m sleeping or awake!

Tuesday (6 Days Post Op) – While Daniel was at work, my day was pretty uneventful, but when he got home he helped me take a real shower! My surgeon actually cleared me to take a shower on Monday, but I fell asleep before it happened.  Before the operation I invested in a shower chair, and I don’t know how I would have showered without it. It was the best shower of my life. Haha I don’t think I’ve ever felt so refreshed. It’s crazy how such normal things can feel like huge accomplishments to me.

Wednesday (7 Days Post Op) – One week since I went under the knife! Overall, I’m feeling pretty good. I changed the dressing over my incisions today and got a little peak at what it’s looking like (picture below). I had some difficulty covering it with new gauze and dressing and Daniel had to help me. Somehow this led to a meltdown. It just hit me that there’s not a lot I can do on my own. I need help with so many different things and it sucks feeling like you can’t be independent. Luckily, I have the best husband ever. He never makes me feel as if I’m a burden and if he’s getting tired of taking care me, he sure doesn’t show it. I came to the realization that I am healing from a major surgery and there is no shame in needing assistance.

image1

Thursday (8 Days Post Op) – It’s been a pretty uneventful day for me. A few days ago, I made a grocery order on walmart.com and Daniel went and picked that up after he got off work today. It was probably the highlight of my day. I’ll probably finish out the evening by watching Flip or Flop on HGTV, exciting, I know. 😂

Next week should be exciting, one of my best friends will be visiting me and I have my follow up appointment with my surgeon’s office. I will post more when I have an update from my doctor. Thanks for reading!

 

 

One thought on “Post Op – Day 8: Adjusting To Life At Home

  1. In a week you will look back at this week & be proud of how far you’ve come in a short time. U r a mighty soldier in more ways than 1. Rock on. 😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

