Post Op – Day 14: Right On Track

Today I had my first post op appointment. It was my first time leaving the house since the surgery and everything went really well! Personally, I feel like I have been making good progress, but to have that validated by my medical team was awesome. I’m getting better at getting around on crutches, my pain is nowhere near what I expected it to be, and I’m not feeling as exhausted all the time. I still need a lot of help, but that is to be expected. 

When I had my surgery, they made two smaller incisions, went in with a scope, and repaired some of the cartilage in my hip (pictures below). Today they took out those stitches. My larger incision has stitches that will dissolve on their own. They said everything looked really nice and clean. 

While I was at my appointment, I had a few X-rays taken. It’s so crazy to see the screws inside of my body. Not in a bad way, it’s actually really cool. I was told that my hip looks great and I’m right on track. One of the nurse practitioners even said, “you’re kind of a badass, you’re doing awesome so far!” 

I have also been given the OK to begin physical therapy. Prior to surgery I went to PT for almost a year and it is not my idea of fun. I’m not looking forward to the exercises and being uncomfortable, but I know it’s going to be so worth it in the long run. It’ll take time, but I’m ready to build the strength back up in my hip and leg. It feels good knowing that I’m heading in the right direction. 

On a side note, since the surgery, I’ve been very hesitant about letting my dog (baby), Riley, around me too much. She has a lot of energy and I was terrified that if I let her too close to me that she’d hurt me on accident. On Monday I finally broke down and let her get in bed with me and she hasn’t left my side since. 😊 She has been so sweet and gentle with me! It’s really cool how dogs pick up on when you’re not feeling 100% and try to lift your spirits. She’s been such a little blessing the past few days. 

Thank you so much to everyone for your support and continued prayers. And thank you to one of my best friends ever, Rene, and her boyfriend for coming over and hanging out with me. It was so nice to have some company and I know Riley enjoyed it too! 

Leave a Reply

