Post Op – Week 6: The Highs And Lows of Recovery

It has been awhile since I’ve posted, but overall I am doing good! I’m in less pain now than I was before surgery and that has been the goal since the beginning. Recovery has its highs and lows, and I’m still in the early stages, but I couldn’t ask for more at this point. 

Everyday I become a little more independent and it seems like I find myself doing something that I couldn’t physically do the day before. Around week three I started leaving the house, but it was kind of scary and being on crutches can make things a bit difficult. Now I feel so much more comfortable being in public. Daniel and I go on a date every weekend and I get out as often as possible! I’m so thankful for my handicap parking placard 🙌🏼 If you’re reading this because you will be undergoing PAO surgery soon, I highly suggest talking to your surgeon about getting one. 

I’m completely off pain medication and only occasionally take Tylenol for discomfort. Around weeks three and four I started to experience nerve pain in my right thigh. It almost felt like a bunch of tiny electrical shocks, I had never felt anything like it. Luckily, it has went away and I’m hoping it won’t return. I hear some popping in my hip joint every now and then, but it’s not painful and it’s considered normal. I have a numb spot on the top side of my thigh, but I’m told that this is also normal and should eventually go away on its own. It’s so weird to me though. My incision scar is pretty long, but it’s looking healthy. I’m using coconut oil and vitamin E to try to lighten it up. 

To be honest, it’s not sunshine and rainbows all the time. Emotionally, healing from this operation has been one of the hardest things I’ve done in life so far. I have really great days, but I also have days where I feel really down. Having to rely on someone for basic things you are used to doing by yourself can be discouraging. I’ve realized that you can’t compare your recovery to someone else’s. Everyone heals differently, and that’s okay. Keeping a positive attitude and having a good support system has been so important. 

Tomorrow afternoon I have an appointment with my surgeon. I have such an appreciation for him and his team, so I’m excited to see what they have to say. I’m hopeful that I’ll get the go ahead to wean off my crutches and begin driving again. I also expect to talk about moving forward with the same operation on my left hip. A few months ago we briefly discussed doing the surgeries about four months apart. I would like to set a date for it as soon as possible. I’ll keep y’all posted!

I haven’t returned back to work yet, so I’m sure you can imagine I’ve had a lot of down time. I’ve been watching a lot Netflix and hanging out with Riley. (If you have any movie or tv series suggestions, let me know). I’m so fortunate to be able to have this much time off to heal, but I’m ready to get back to my regular schedule!

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again, I am SO thankful for my amazing support system. I would not have been able to do this without having Daniel by my side. He’s such an amazing husband and caretaker. The family and friends who have checked on me and visited me have kept me in such good spirits. Everything’s a little bit easier when you have good people in your corner. I love y’all 💕

Leave a Reply

