Post Op – Week 6: One Step At A Time

Yesterday I had my second post op appointment with my surgeon. It’s been a month since the last time I was in his office and the progress that I’ve made since then is amazing. 

Before I had the surgery, I was asked to participate in a research study to help prevent blood loss in surgery. I agreed to take part in the study and the morning of the operation they took a small blood sample from me. Since then I haven’t even thought about it, but I after I checked in for my appointment the nurse who took my blood sample approached me. She asked if she could take another small sample and told me that I would be compensated for participating. I was given $100 😱 I didn’t expect to receive anything for it, so that was a nice way to start my visit! 

I then had a new set of X-rays taken and saw one of my surgeon’s assistants. We pretty much just chatted about how I was feeling and she took a look at my incisions. She thought that they looked great! I was planning on starting to tan again soon, but she told me that if I get any sun on my scars, that they could become a lot more pigmented and stay like that forever. I think I’ll spray tan. 

My surgeon came into the room and I was so happy to see him. I wouldn’t say I have a crush on him (he could probably be my grandfather), but when someone saves your hip you have a pretty deep admiration for them haha. He asked me to take a few steps without out my crutches and I panicked a little bit. I didn’t think I even could, but I took about four or five steps completely on my own! It was probably the most exciting thing that has happened since I’ve had surgery. I could tell that my hip was weak, but I didn’t experience any pain at all. We looked over my new X-rays and there has been a lot of bone growth. My progress is right on target. I then got the okay to start walking with a single crutch. I’ll continue with one crutch until physical therapy tells me otherwise. Since I’m bearing a little more weight, I can drive again. These are huge for me 😄

We discussed moving forward with my left hip. It is mildly dysplastic and has bothered me from time to time in the past, but the discomfort has never been anywhere near what I experienced in my right hip. He asked how it was currently feeling and I told him that since surgery the left hip pain has definitely increased. We both think that it’s because I’ve been putting the majority of my weight on that side for the past six weeks. We are going to wait and see how it’s feeling at my next appointment in April before we make a decision. If surgery is the route we take, I probably won’t be ready until the summer, but improving on my own is the best scenario here. Please keep me in your thoughts!

This appointment has been the best one yet. I’m confident that it’ll only go up from here. I have such an amazing surgical team and I’m thankful for them everyday. Thank you so much for reading! 

Leave a Reply

