Post Op – Week 15: “A Little Progress Everyday Adds Up to Big Results” 

Today I had a follow up appointment with my surgeon’s resident and everything went well! I had new X-rays taken and you can see how much bone growth I’ve had since I had the operation. With the help of physical therapy, I can feel myself healing and getting stronger, but being able to actually see the improvement feels incredible. 

My team of doctors think I’m having the best possible recovery. I have post op pain every now and then, but that is to be expected with a major surgery like the one I had. I still have a small fracture in my hip, but I have been told I should be able to start jogging soon, which is so exciting to hear! 

After careful consideration, my doctors have decided that at this time I’m not a good candidate for PAO surgery on my left side. I have dysplasia in that hip, but the pain I have is very mild and we’ll just continue to monitor it over time. 

I’m grateful that I can begin moving forward with healthier hips and I’m hopeful that I won’t need the other surgery for a long time, if at all. Thank you to everyone who has kept up with my journey and sent me prayers, loving thoughts and positive vibes!

Leave a Reply

